Home > Blogs about the blog > Welcome to Promiscuous Intelligence

Welcome to Promiscuous Intelligence

I had to start a blog, you understand. I’ll admit, this is not my first blog. My first blog was called Apologies for Woodrow Wilson and was where I wrote about foreign policy and international news. Usually after a scotch or two. (It was a fun blog.) I guess you could say I’ve moved that work to my second blog, the Current News Blog, where I also blog about foreign policy and international news. But that’s for work, so there’s less scotch involved.

Who am I? I’m Andrew Fitzgerald. I’m a journalist and writer in San Francisco. God, that sounds terribly unoriginal doesn’t it? Hmph. Also, I grew up on a boat. I’m on Twitter and I work for Current TV.

What’s this blog? I wanted a catch-all blogging space to talk about anything and everything that crossed my little mind. I wrote a book this past year, I wanted to be able to talk about that. I spend a lot of time thinking about the future of journalism, this is also a space for that. And sometimes, you know what, I’m going to want to get drunk and poke fun at Vladimir Putin. It happens!

Why Promiscuous Intelligence? I believe information wants to be (and should be) free. Not free in the pricing sense (sorry Chris Anderson) but free in the liberty sense (lookin’ at you founding fathers). My goal is to aid that process. Also, andrewfitzgerald.com is being squatted upon by a hypnotist or something.

Why the janky WordPress theme layout? Give me some time! My last blog was on Blogspot, I’ve already taken a big step up!

What about this book I wrote? That will be the subject of the very next post, I promise. The skinny is this – I wrote a novel and it’s called The Collective. Anyone who wants a copy of the book can sign up for a Kickstarter project I’m going to launch in January. Details to come.

That’s about all – let me know if you want to be in the blog roll. I’ll be directing a firehose of traffic your way in no time, I’m sure.

  1. December 14, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    welcome to blogworld…again

  2. Ashley
    December 14, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Nice name 🙂

  3. December 15, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Hey there. Found you through bookfuturism.com.

    I just wanted to say that it’s cool you wrote a book, but if this is your first novel, odds are it needs some work before it gets unleashed on the world.

    Which is where I come in. I do freelance book doctoring, helping authors with, as my website imples, plot to punctuation and everything in between. I’d love to be hired for money, of course, but I notice that you have at least 1, maybe 1.5 metric craploads of followers on twitter, to whom I wouldn’t mind being exposed now and then.

    So if you’re interested in getting some professional eyes on your manuscript for kick-ass feedback before you kick-starter it, we could probably work some kind of trade. And if not, well, that’s cool too and I’ll see you over in the comment at bookfuturism.com.

  4. RroseisRrose
    December 19, 2009 at 6:27 am

    One time we didn’t hire a professor because when asked what kind of scholar she considered herself to be, she answered “a promiscuous one.”

    Way to commit to the blogging, by the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

